Skip to Main Content
Idaho State University home

Course Modules

Level 1

Module 1 - Introduction to Information Protection: introduces information protection principles and provides basic security concepts for students enrolled in an introductory information systems course.

Module 2 - PC / Workstation: introduces essential concepts of personal Information Security and outlines components of an introductory course dealing with the basic security concepts of information processing.

Level 2

Module 3 - Security Fundamentals: outlines and describes the basic requirements for planning, organizing, and managing security in an organization including personal and organizational ethics; hardware and software issues; security and threats to data; recovery, control, and audit procedures; and corporate security costs and benefits identification.

Module 4 - Information Security Law and Legislation: is intended to be part of a junior or senior level course in an MIS or CS curriculum that covers the legal aspects of information systems.

Level 3

Module 5 - System Security: defines advanced requirements for security and the criteria on which satisfaction of those requirements can be judged.

Module 6 - Communications Security: may be added to an existing data communications course, or to a course in office automation.

Capstone Module

Module 7 - Corporate Security Management: deals with top management and policy considerations. The responsibilities of managers vary, depending on their level in an organization, and this module introduces differences in responsibilities at various levels of management.

Module 8 - Introduction to Accounting Controls and EDP Auditing: is an introduction to accounting and auditing controls concepts intended for a broad variety of students in courses where an appreciation of such concepts is needed.